Adoption experience and advice

A place where you can discuss adoption and moving on after the TTC journey

Moderators: thebuzz, Northfifer, Sammi, Hols969, DawnyB, purplestar, loachy, Mrs Wilko, Lutzomyia

Adoption experience and advice

Postby PurdeyGirl » Sat Jul 18, 2009 8:17 pm

Hi. I am new to this discussion board but not to this condition or to Verity which is a useful, helpful organisation.

I was diagnosed with PCOS 8 years ago, as hubby and I were going through the assisted fertility/IVF process. To cut a very long story short, clomid and IUI didn't work, nor did our first attempt at IVF with ICSI. Our second attempt did, but I miscarried twins at 13 weeks. A year afterwards, just as we were ready to try again, I was diagnosed with relapsing, remitting MS and we were advised not to try.

After some time (3 years) and having talked endlessly about the issue, hubby and I decided to try adopting. As far as we were concerned, it was a no-brainer. We had survived all the stress of the IVF and the MS diagnosis so we were obviously sound relationship wise. We have a nice home in a pretty village; hubby has a good job and I run my own business so we're financially stable and, we thought, ready to be loving, nurturing parents to a child or children who needed a home. Heck, we even have a dog! Surely, as they're advertising for people to get involved in this, they would be grateful for our application..............

At this point I should explain that hubby has a physical mobility impairment which he was born with, but which is stable. My MS has turned out to be benign relapsing remitting and it too is stable although I am aware of its potential to worsen.