Anyone else anxious and confused about what to eat?

Why we all seem to carry it all around the waist...

Moderators: thebuzz, Northfifer, Sammi, Hols969, DawnyB, purplestar, loachy, Mrs Wilko, Lutzomyia

Anyone else anxious and confused about what to eat?

Postby Loz83 » Tue Sep 15, 2015 10:50 am

Hi all, I'm a newbie here. I was diagnosed with pcos a couple of weeks ago at 32. I have cysts on my ovaries and my hormones/glucose are all over the place. My gynaecologist has given me a diet plan to stick to (no white carbs or sugar, 3 square meals a day and 2 small snacks, eating when hungry) and he's going to check back with me in about 6 weeks. It's all come as a bit of a shock since I have 2 girls and none of the "usual symptoms" at least externally. My BMI is 24 and I've never been much above that even after giving birth. I've struggled with anxiety and depression most of my life but my blood works generally been ok until now. nobody noticed anything was wrong with me all this time! its all pretty confusing. My diet hasn't been great after having kids (too much wine last few months, I'm also a baker and have a bit of a sweet tooth, plus I love milk and yoghurt) so now I'm wondering if I gave myself Pcos! I must admit I don't know exactly what my blood work is other than that the fasting test (the one where you fast in the morning, eat and then test you again after a couple of hours) showed low blood glucose. It wasn't very helpful that when I asked about insulin resistance pretty much fobbed me off - so I'm basically none the wiser.

Anyway the more I read about what is best to eat the more confused and anxious I get so the more I read and then the more confused I get (and anxious!) ad infinitum. Food used to be a friend, now it's just giving my anxiety! The worst part is I know the anxiety is also making my hormones and health worse (which is the last thing an anxious person needs to hear! Ha!)

Anyone else going through something similar?
Loz83