Blood Glucose Testing System

Why we all seem to carry it all around the waist...

Moderators: thebuzz, Northfifer, Sammi, Hols969, DawnyB, purplestar, loachy, Mrs Wilko, Lutzomyia

Do you measure your blood glucose level?

Yes
23%
No
77%

Total votes : 43

Blood Glucose Testing System

Postby TheMistress » Thu Nov 25, 2004 2:57 pm

Hi there, wondering if anyone can recommend a glucose test kit that works well for them. I'm not diabetic, but certainly insulin resistant. Not helping myself a great deal with my current diet, and thought it's about time to start doing something about it. In the past, checking glucose level before and after meals was a useful thing for me, bit no idea where the test kit is anymore, so will have to get a new one. Any recommendations?
TheMistress

Blood glucose testing

Postby Sonia » Sun Dec 05, 2004 11:21 pm

I have no knowledge of these things but I recall seeing them in Boots and Superdrugs.

Never thought of having a test done, but I do try to avoid taking too much sugar and not leaving it too long between meals otherwise I feel woozy. I guess the occasional bar of chocolate is not helping much but it tastes soooo good :lol:
Sonia

Postby Sonia » Thu Feb 17, 2005 8:57 pm

Update to my previous post.

Went for my annual checkup at the hospital and mentioned my symptoms to the doctor who confirmed that I should eat little and often to avoid being hypoglycaemic (low sugar). Said I should give up cornflakes and stick with shredded wheat - I love cornflakes so that's going to be difficult :(
Sonia

Postby sally-ann » Sun Feb 20, 2005 9:14 pm