NEW MEMBER- Just got Metformin! Is it really a 'wonder drug?

Why we all seem to carry it all around the waist...

Moderators: thebuzz, Northfifer, Sammi, Hols969, DawnyB, purplestar, loachy, Mrs Wilko, Lutzomyia

NEW MEMBER- Just got Metformin! Is it really a 'wonder drug?

Postby lynsay » Fri Aug 31, 2007 2:42 pm

Hi Everyone! I'm new to this so please bear with! I was diagnosed with PCOS last year and have just today started Metformin. I am 14 stone exactly and am 5 ft 6in. I am at my heaviest and feel very tired allot of the time and irritable. Will Metformin help me lose weight? Will it help with tiredness and low libido? Will it help ridiculous sugar cravings? Been given 500mg tabs. 1 for 1st week then 2 second week then 3 from then on. Had first 1 this morning with a banana and a pear and felt a bit queasy when I had a chocolate cookie mid morning. Please give me your stories, warts and all!! I need to lose 3 st 7lb.

Looking forward to hearing your stories! x
lynsay

Postby Splatts » Fri Aug 31, 2007 3:17 pm

Alas no, i wouldn't say it's a wonder drug hun.

Does help me with tiredness and it does help with libido and 'can' aid weightloss, but for some people it has more effect than others.

When you take it at first, you can get side effects and it's better to take with something more substantial than what you had.. for the first few weeks until your body gets used to it.

Try having cereal & your fruit with the Met and see if that helps, or take the Met with your Lunch or evening meal.

You might get an upset tummy with it at first and it can make you feel sick and shaky if you take it on an empty stomach too.
Splatts

Postby lynsay » Sun Sep 02, 2007 4:25 pm

Thanks, I will try that. Really hope it helps with weight! 3rd day now and dont really feel need to eat between meals. Good sign x
lynsay

Postby mizuza » Wed Sep 19, 2007 7:11 pm